Both recreational and medicinal marijuana are legal in Maine for adults over the age of 21. As in all jurisdictions, public use is prohibited, as is drugged driving. Patients under the age of 21, but 18 years of age or older, may participate in the state’s medical marijuana program only. For recreational users, possession of up to 2.5 oz of flower marijuana or 5 g of concentrate is allowed. Maine's recreational program is slated to come online October 9, 2020. Possession of larger amounts of marijuana is a crime resulting in:
• 6 months of incarceration and a $1,000 fine (2.5-8 oz flower marijuana).
• 1 year of incarceration and a $2,000 fine (0.5-1 lb flower marijuana or more than 5 g concentrate).
• 5 years of incarceration and a $5,000 fine (1-20 lbs).
• 10 years of incarceration and a $20,000 fine (more than 20 lbs).
Up to 3 plants may be grown for personal use. Cultivating larger amounts is a crime resulting in:
• 1 year of incarceration and a $2,000 fine (4-99 plants).
• 5 years of incarceration and a $5,000 fine (100-500 plants).
• 10 years of incarceration and a $20,000 fine (more than 500 plants).
Aggravated circumstances, like prior convictions, may increase penalty severity.
Mainers participating in the state’s medical marijuana program may possess up to 2.5 oz and are authorized to cultivate up to 6 mature plants. Medical providers who are in good standing with the appropriate state licensing board can recommend marijuana at their discretion.
Maine does have a reciprocity program to accommodate some medical marijuana patients from out of state. To learn which states have been approved or for more information about medical marijuana in Maine, please see the website for the Office of Marijuana Policy: https://www.maine.gov/dafs/omp/medical-use.