top of page


As of June 22, 2021, Governor Ned Lamont signed Bill No. 1201 legalizing recreational cannabis use for anyone over the age of 21 starting July 1, 2021. The sale of recreational cannabis began in January 2023. Adults are legally allowed to possess 1.5 oz of cannabis and may possess an additional 5 oz so long as it is in a locked container. The state of Connecticut recognizes 5 g of cannabis concentrate to be the equivalent of 1 oz of flower. Cultivation for recreational use is legal for adults over the age of 21, who can grow up to three mature plants and three immature plants indoors. First-time offenders who are found to be in possession of more than 5 oz and less than 8 oz will receive a civil fine of $150. Subsequent offenses will be considered a class D misdemeanor, which carries a maximum sentence of up to 30 days in jail and/or a fine of up to $250. Cultivation for non-medical use is prohibited. First-time possession of more than 8 oz will result in a fine of $500, while subsequent instances of possession of more than 8 oz will be considered a class C misdemeanor. 

Connecticut does have a medical marijuana program, and participants can possess a supply that can last for 1 month. Patients over the age of 18 are allowed to grow up to three mature plants and three immature plants indoors, though there is a cap of 12 total plants per household. Plants cannot be visible from the street. To recommend marijuana, physicians or advanced practice registered nurses (APRNs) must have an active Connecticut medical license and DEA registration not subject to limitation with a bona-fide physician-patient relationship with the patient. Additionally, authorized physicians must register with the Connecticut Department of Consumer Protection through their portal: 

Marijuana may be recommended for the following conditions: 
•    ALS (amyotrophic lateral sclerosis)
•    Cachexia
•    Cancer
•    Cerebral palsy
•    Chronic neuropathic pain

•    Chronic pain of at least 6 months duration

•    Chronic pancreatitis
•    Complex regional pain syndrome
•    Crohn's disease
•    Cystic fibrosis

•    Ehlers-Danlos syndrome
•    Epilepsy
•    Glaucoma
•    Hydrocephalus
•    Interstitial cystitis
•    Intractable headache syndromes
•    Irreversible spinal cord injury
•    MALS (medial arcuate ligament syndrome)
•    Multiple sclerosis
•    Muscular dystrophy
•    Neuropathic pain
•    Osteogenesis imperfecta
•    Parkinson's disease
•    Neuralgia
•    Persistent muscle spasms
•    Post laminectomy syndrome
•    PTSD (post-traumatic stress disorder)
•    Severe psoriasis and psoriatic arthritis
•    Rheumatoid arthritis
•    Sickle cell disease
•    Tourette syndrome
•    Ulcerative colitis
•    Vulvodynia

Additional medical conditions are pending approval by Connecticut’s Department of Consumer Protection. Update as of June 8, 2020: Two additional qualifying conditions were approved: chronic pain that has lasted for at least six months and Ehlers-Danlos syndrome. Update as of October 18, 2021: Huntington's disease will be added to the list of qualifying conditions.

Connecticut does not have a reciprocity program to accommodate medical marijuana patients from out of state. 

For more information, see the department’s website:

bottom of page