Recreational and medical marijuana are both legal in California. Medical patients over the age of 18 may possess or grow as much as is deemed necessary. Though the state does not limit the amount of plants that a patient can grow to treat their condition, local ordinances may impose limits on cultivation. For recreational users over the age of 21, it is legal to possess only up 28.5 g of plant material or 8 g of concentrate at one time. Possession of more than the legal limit is a misdemeanor punishable by up to 6 months of incarceration and a maximum fine of $500. Cultivation is also limited for recreational users; they may only grow up to 6 plants. For medical and recreational users, it remains illegal to consume marijuana in public places or to drive under the influence of THC.
An MD or DO licensed to practice in California may recommend marijuana to a patient, provided they are said patient’s “attending physician.” Assembly Bill 710, which was passed in 2018, allows physicians, pharmacists, or others authorized in the healing arts to prescribe, furnish, or dispense cannabis products that are high in CBD and below 0.3% THC at their discretion. Marijuana, meanwhile, may be recommended for any debilitating illness where it has been deemed appropriate and recommended by a physician. Specific examples include:
• Chronic pain
• Persistent muscle spasms
California does not have a reciprocity program to accommodate medical marijuana patients from out of state.
For more information, please see the state’s marijuana portal: https://www.cdph.ca.gov/Programs/CHSI/Pages/MMICP.aspx.