In 2015, Oklahoma passed legislation allowing patients with pediatric epilepsy to be treated with low-THC preparations of cannabis largely consistent with the Farm Bill of 2018, which set a limit on THC concentration at 0.3%. In 2018, the state created a medical marijuana program that allows patients to possess up to 3 oz of flower marijuana, 1 oz of concentrate, or 72 oz of edible cannabis on their person. (8 oz of flower marijuana may be stored in their home.) Patients are authorized to grow up to 12 plants, but only 6 can be mature at any given time. Individuals who claim to have a medical condition, but have not obtained a state-issued license to possess marijuana will only face a misdemeanor offense and a fine not to exceed $400, provided they are found in possession of under 1.5 oz.
MDs or DOs with a license to practice medicine in Oklahoma who have a bona-fide physician-patient relationship with a patient may recommend marijuana. The state allows the attending physician to use their discretion when making the recommendation.
Oklahoma does not have a reciprocity program to accommodate medical marijuana patients from out of state.
For more information about the state’s medical marijuana program, please see the website for the Oklahoma Medical Marijuana Authority: http://omma.ok.gov/.
Possession of marijuana for non-medicinal reasons is a misdemeanor punishable by incarceration for 1 year and a fine of $1,000. Cultivation is a felony. For less than 1,000 plants, the penalty is a minimum of 2 years imprisonment and a maximum of life in prison, as well as a fine of $25,000. For more than 1,000 plants (or 1,000 kg), the fine is $50,000 and violators face a minimum sentence of 20 years in prison and a maximum sentence of life in prison.