Nebraska

There is no medical cannabis program of any kind in Nebraska, but Legislative Bill 657 brings state law into compliance with federal law regarding hemp-derived CBD containing less than 0.3% THC. 
Cannabis defined as “marijuana” (containing more than 0.3% THC) is considered a controlled substance in the state of Nebraska. First-time possession of less than 1 oz of flower marijuana, while illegal, has been decriminalized and may result in a fine of $300. Subsequent instances of possession of less than 1 oz of marijuana count as a misdemeanor and may result in a few days in jail and a fine of $500. Possession of more than 1 oz but less than 1 lb is also a misdemeanor and may result in a maximum term of imprisonment of 3 months and a fine of $500. Possession of more than 1 lb of marijuana is a felony and may result in a maximum term of imprisonment of 5 years and a fine of $10,000. Possession of any amount of THC concentrate is also a felony and may result in a maximum term of imprisonment of 5 years and a fine of $10,000.


Cultivation of marijuana is illegal. The penalty is based on the total weight of the plants.

Contact Us

© 2020 Cannabis Textbook