Kansas has not created a medicinal cannabis program at this time, but state law allows the use of cannabis extracts as a medicine so long as THC concentrations do not exceed 5%. Additionally, CBD has been explicitly legalized by state law. If one has not been authorized to possess or use a cannabis formulation containing above 0.3% THC, then they may be charged with possession of marijuana, which is a misdemeanor if there is no intent to distribute. Offenders can receive a maximum sentence of up to 6 months imprisonment and a fine of $1,000. Distributing, selling, or cultivating marijuana is a felony.
While Kansas allows the possession and use of cannabis extracts containing up to 5% THC under Claire and Lola’s Law, only patients with debilitating medical conditions causing serious impairment, including ones that produce seizures, for which they are under current and active treatment by an MD or DO licensed to practice in the state of Kansas are eligible to do so. Currently, there are no dispensaries in the state of Kansas where one can procure such formulations; the state law merely allows qualifying individuals and their caretakers to possess cannabis preparations containing up to 5% THC without fear of prosecution.