Recreational marijuana is legal in Colorado. The state is also home to a medical marijuana program For recreational use, Coloradans and tourists over the age of 21 are allowed possess or purchase 1 oz at a time. Individuals may also grow 6 plants, with as many as 3 of those plants flowering at one time. For medicinal use, Coloradans can purchase 2 oz of marijuana at once.
Possession of between 1-2 oz. of marijuana for non-medicinal users is a petty offense punishable by a fine no more than $100. Possession of 2-12 oz is a misdemeanor. Possession of between 2-6 oz may result in a punishment of up to 12 months of incarceration and a fine of $700, while between 6-12 oz may result in a punishment of up to 18 months of incarceration and a fine of $5,000. Possession of more than 12 oz of marijuana is a felony punishable by a maximum term of imprisonment of 2 years and a fine of $100,000. Cultivation of 6-30 plants is a felony that may result in a penalty of 6-24 months of incarceration and a maximum fine of $100,000, while cultivation of more than 30 plants may result in a sentence of 2-6 years of imprisonment and a fine of $500,000. Use is public places is still illegal, as is drugged driving.
MDs, DOs, or advanced practice practitioners (dentists, physician assistants, advanced nurse practitioners, podiatrists, optometrists) who are licensed to practice medicine in Colorado with valid, unrestricted DEA certification, and an online account with the Colorado Department of Public Health & Environment can recommend marijuana for either disabling or debilitating conditions. To register, physicians should visit the following site:
Disabling medical conditions include:
• Autism spectrum disorder
• PTSD (post-traumatic stress disorder)
• Any condition for which a physician could provide an opioid
Debilitating medical conditions include:
• Chronic pain
• Chronic nervous system disorders
• Persistent muscle spasms
Colorado does not have a reciprocity program to accommodate medical marijuana patients from out of state.
For more information, please see Colorado’s Department of Public Health & Environment: