Recreational marijuana is not legal in Arkansas. State law describes it as a Schedule VI substance. Despite being a controlled substance, possession of small amounts of marijuana have been decriminalized in Fayetteville, Eureka Springs, and Jacksonville. In the rest of the state, those found in possession of less than 4 oz of marijuana could be found guilty of a misdemeanor offense, and those who are convicted may face upwards of 1 year in jail and/or a maximum fine of $2,500. Second-time and subsequent offenders, provided they are in possession of more than 1 oz of marijuana, may face felony charges and a punishment of up to 6 years in prison and/or a fine of $6,000.
Despite such harsh laws against recreational marijuana, Arkansas does have a medical marijuana program. Patients are not allowed to cultivate plants, but they may purchase up to 2.5 oz or 71 g of marijuana every 14 days. Any MD or DO licensed to practice in Arkansas with a current Drug Enforcement Agency number is authorized to sign the form authorizing a patient to obtain medical marijuana. Authorized medical professionals may recommend it for the following conditions:
• ALS (amyotrophic lateral sclerosis)
• Alzheimer’s disease
• Chronic or debilitating diseases
• Crohn’s disease
• Hepatitis C
• Intractable pain
• Multiple sclerosis
• Peripheral neuropathy
• PTSD (post-traumatic stress disorder)
• Severe arthritis
• Severe nausea
• Severe and persistent muscle spasms
• Tourette syndrome
• Ulcerative colitis
Additional conditions may qualify, subject to approval by the Department of Health.
For out-of-state patients visiting Arkansas or for patients who have recently moved to Arkansas, the state does have a program that allows you to purchase marijuana from Arkansas dispensaries. Patients can register through the following portal: https://ammsys.adh.arkansas.gov/.
For more information, visit the website for the Arkansas Department of Health: https://www.healthy.arkansas.gov/programs-services/topics/medical-marijuana.