Alaska

Recreational and medical marijuana are both legal in Alaska. Adults age 21 and older may possess up to 1 oz of flower marijuana or 7 g of concentrate and can cultivate six plants, though only three plants may be mature and flowering at any time. Possession of 1-4 oz of marijuana is a misdemeanor punishable by up to 1 year of incarceration and a maximum fine of $10,000. Possession of more than 4 oz is a felony punishable by up to 5 years imprisonment and a fine of $50,000. It remains illegal to consume marijuana in public places or to drive under the influence of THC. Public consumption may result in a fine of $100.

Physicians in good standing with a license to practice medicine in Alaska who have a bona-fide physician-patient relationship with patients may recommend marijuana for the following conditions:

  • Cachexia

  • Cancer

  • Glaucoma

  • HIV/AIDS

  • Multiple sclerosis

  • Muscle spasms

  • Seizures

  • Severe nausea

  • Severe pain

Alaska does not offer reciprocity to patients of participating in the medical programs of other states.

For more information, see the Alaska Department of Health and Social Services’ site on marijuana at http://dhss.alaska.gov/dph/Director/Pages/marijuana/default.aspx. For legal specifics, see Alaska Statutes 2019 17.37.040.

Contact Us

© 2020 Cannabis Textbook